Projects

5-Minute Natural Makeup with bareMinerals

natural makeup, bareMinerals makeup, easy makeup, quick natural makeup, mineral makeup how-to, natural makeup before after

That, ladies and gentlemen, is most definitely a picture of me with no makeup. Zero. Nada. Totally bare-faced. This was my natural state last Sunday morning when staying in bed all day was a very real possibility. But when my lazy day was happily interrupted by a last-minute brunch invitation from a friend, I needed to get ready, and I needed to get ready fast. French toast waits for no woman.

Truthfully, I’d call myself pretty low-maintenance as far as city girls go.  I can wear false lashes and a sequin dress with the best of them, but on a day-to-day basis I’m pretty relaxed. I don’t spend a ton of time putting on makeup, but I’ll admit that it is important to me to look polished and confident. I still want to look like myself, but as if I had a clever lighting team with me at all time. I kid, I kid!

I recently learned about the bareMinerals line (I know, I’ve been living under a rock), and I was pleasantly surprised at how easily mineral foundation fit into my makeup routine. It allowed me to cut out a solid three minutes from my liquid foundation routine, and I still feel totally natural. Just less blotchy!

Here’s how I create my day-to-day natural look. Next week I’ll show how I go from daytime makeup to something more dramatic for night, all in less than the time it takes to mix a good lemon drop. Hey, Revenge and Scandal just got back on the air- I have things to do!

natural makeup, bareMinerals makeup, easy makeup, quick natural makeup, mineral makeup how-to

Helloooo, naked face! To get a good base and make sure my makeup goes on smoothly, I start with a good moisturizer. Seriously, don’t skip that step. I let it settle in for a few minutes and then top it with a primer containing SPF.

natural makeup, bareMinerals makeup, easy makeup, quick natural makeup, mineral makeup how-to

To apply mineral foundation, I shake a little into the cap and swirl the brush about in a happy fashion. Tap off the excess back into the tin, then apply it with a swirly circular motion. I start on my cheeks since that’s where I need the most coverage, but you ladies without rosacea can start at the center of your face and work your way out. Make sure to blend really well along the jawline- you don’t have to worry about the awkward foundation line with mineral makeup, but it’s still good to play it safe.

bareMinerals makes several different brushes for different coverage levels- I’m using the Flawless Face brush for light/medium coverage, but they also have a Full Flawless Face brush for fuller coverage. I like fuller coverage for night and lighter for day.

natural makeup, bareMinerals makeup, easy makeup, quick natural makeup, mineral makeup how-to

Next, dot concealer on any imperfections that show through the makeup and blend with a light tapping motion. I like to use a moisturizing, creamy concealer under my eyes like Tarte Maracuja and a thicker, stick concealer for blemishes. Once you’ve applied concealer to your satisfaction, lightly tap the brush you used for your foundation over the concealer. No need to re-dip in foundation- just use the excess on the brush for natural coverage.

natural makeup, bareMinerals makeup, easy makeup, quick natural makeup, mineral makeup how-to

Next comes blush. Seriously, guys, this is the first time in my entire life I’ve used blush. I’ve spent so much time trying to cover up redness on my cheeks that the idea of adding more was absurd. But I love this Aphrodisiac shade for its warm peachy tones- the golden hue works well with my skin and actually helps counteract redness. Love.

Blush always looks nice on the apples of your cheeks, but I’m a fan of applying it just below my cheekbones for a lightly sculpted look. I like the Precision Face Brush for blush, but a fluffy brush works well for a more diffused look. Again, make sure to blend well!

natural makeup, bareMinerals makeup, easy makeup, quick natural makeup, mineral makeup how-to

natural makeup, bareMinerals makeup, easy makeup, quick natural makeup, mineral makeup how-to

I love eye shadow quads like this Ready set– they’re so simple to use and are great for day as well as night. For a light look that still defines your eyes, try applying all four shades as I did above, with 1 being the lightest color and 4 being the darkest. I smudged the darkest color along the outer 2/3 of my lash line instead of liner- it’s more gentle for day but still provides definition. I’ll also take my pinky finger and smudge a bit of the 2nd lightest color along my lower lashline.

Fluffy shadow brushes work well, but I’m a fan of using my ring finger to apply and blend the shadows. My favorite little trick is to tap the pad of my pinky finger in the lightest shadow and gently pat it around the inner corner of my eye near your tear duct. Instant brightness!

natural makeup, bareMinerals makeup, easy makeup, quick natural makeup, mineral makeup how-to

And now for my favorite part. I love the look of bold brows, and lately I’ve been obsessed with Benefit’s new Gimme Brow gel. It applies like a mascara through your brows, coating and darkening each hair as well as the skin underneath it. That stuff lasts, too- I wore it through an 80-minute session on the elliptical and it didn’t move.

I’m blessed with long lashes (thanks, Mom and Dad!), but they look so much bolder with a few coats of mascara. No matter where I’m going, I always apply three coats to make my lashes really stand out. I loved trying the new Lash Domination mascara from bareMinerals, and I’m also a fan of Covergirl Clump Crusher. Both product names make me feel pumped up- domination! crusher! pow! bam!

natural makeup, bareMinerals makeup, easy makeup, quick natural makeup, mineral makeup how-to

Finally, for the lips, I like to do a nude color with a bit of gloss for day and switch it out for fuchsia at night. The new bareMinerals Moxie gloss is seriously the only gloss I’ve ever tried that’s free of that gross sticky-candy feeling. Hooray!

natural makeup, bareMinerals makeup, easy makeup, quick natural makeup, mineral makeup how-to

And here you have it- 4 minutes and 47 seconds by my watch! I like how I still feel like me, but much more polished and confident. Evening out my skin tone and lightly defining my eyes/brows/lips makes a big difference, and it’s the perfect starting place for a more dramatic evening look. Is this similar to your makeup routine, or is it different? What did I forget?

I received all of the bareMinerals products as gifts to try, but I was in no way compensated for writing this post. I just really like the stuff!

Shop the Products : Natural Beauty Tools

Standard

2 thoughts on “5-Minute Natural Makeup with bareMinerals

  1. Hi Sarah! First off, thanks for always posting cool fashion pieces. You look like you’ve really found your calling. My name is Pete and I am a Fashion Photographer here in SF ( We’ve met…) and I was taught that I am ultimately responsible for everything visible in the digital canvases called photos. That includes, subject, light, styling, background, MAKEUP, anything and everything! I can’t expect “the best” of any model I work with if I don’t know what’s going on with their “canvases” at all times. Don’t get me wrong, I leave the HMU to the pros but being able to communicate my desires with my clients is the key to success. Besides, it breaks down yet another barrier between photog and model. Thanks Sarah! Your tutorial was really helpful. I need to know more about HMU and ways and this was a great intro! All the best, Pete Hopkins

  2. Lois says:

    I think this is probably the smartest, most put together, and easiest 5 minute makeup routine I’ve ever seen. Thanks so much! I’m SO done with the over made up look! And who the heck needs 50 eyeshadow colors in a palette?? This is so great and fresh looking.

Come on, tell me!

