Places

Go Bare in Public (with bareMinerals, that is!)

bareminerals, bareminerals go bare, bareminerals ready foundation, bareminerals san francisco, bareminerals event

bareminerals, bareminerals go bare, bareminerals ready foundation, bareminerals san francisco, bareminerals event

I’ve loved fashion since high school, but I’ve been a beauty fiend ever since I can remember. During my teen years, a host of skin issues prompted me to cake on layers upon layers of foundation and powder like a bad cliche. The result was unnatural and heavy, and I certainly wasn’t fooling anyone. I’m much happier with my skin and makeup routine now, but those misbegotten years left me with a serious phobia of powder foundation.

However, when bareMinerals invited me to try a makeunder (yes, under!), it sounded like something right up my alley. Hailing from San Francisco (woot woot!), bareMinerals part of the bareEscentulas family, carrying on the mission statement that makeup and skincare should enhance natural beauty and boost confidence. They describe bareMinerals makeup as a form of skincare and “so pure you could sleep in it,” which certainly had me intrigued. My liquid foundation served me nicely, but I couldn’t wait to take it off at the end of the day.

So, I found myself at the Go Bare event sponsored by bareMinerals and held just outside the beautiful Ferry Building on the Embarcardero. It’s one of my favorite areas in the city- that no-man’s-land between the bustling Financial District and the grey-green water of the bay. The fading light of the day was the perfect backdrop for the pop-up stand, where makeup artists subtly transformed women into a more radiant version of themselves.

Liliana, my fabulous makeup artist, gave me a fresh, natural look with serious staying power. The secret involves moisturizing and applying a primer first and being sure to choose the right brush for the coverage you want. Liliana applied a light layer of  their Original foundation followed by concealer, later warming my face with bronzer and blush. For the lips, I couldn’t resist going bold with a lipstick called “Risk It All” (love the playful names!) for a bold pop of pink that just so happened to match the decor. Coincidence?

I was lucky enough to take home some goodies to try myself, and I can say I’m officially hooked. Tomorrow I’ll be sharing a little 5-minute makeup tutorial I came up with, and I’m so excited about it that I’m even posting a no-makeup face shot for comparison.
Courage, Sarah. Courage.

Many thanks to the fantastic folks at bareMinerals for making this all possible!

bareminerals, bareminerals go bare, bareminerals ready foundation, bareminerals san francisco, bareminerals event

My friend Mathilda accompanied me for her own makeunder- doesn’t she look fantastic? I love how they played up her adorable freckles!

bareminerals, bareminerals go bare, bareminerals ready foundation, bareminerals san francisco, bareminerals event

bareminerals, bareminerals go bare, bareminerals ready foundation, bareminerals san francisco, bareminerals event

bareminerals, bareminerals go bare, bareminerals ready foundation, bareminerals san francisco, bareminerals event, bareminerals makeup brush, mineral makeup brush

bareminerals, bareminerals go bare, bareminerals ready foundation, bareminerals san francisco, bareminerals event
bareminerals, bareminerals go bare, bareminerals ready foundation, bareminerals san francisco, bareminerals event

bareminerals, bareminerals go bare, bareminerals ready foundation, bareminerals san francisco, bareminerals event

bareminerals, bareminerals go bare, bareminerals ready foundation, bareminerals san francisco, bareminerals event

bareminerals, bareminerals go bare, bareminerals ready foundation, bareminerals san francisco, bareminerals event

bareminerals, bareminerals go bare, bareminerals ready foundation, bareminerals san francisco, bareminerals event

bareminerals, bareminerals go bare, bareminerals ready foundation, bareminerals san francisco, bareminerals event

Standard

Come on, tell me!

