Recipes

7 Fantastic Savory Pumpkin Recipes

pumpkin recipe, savory pumpkin recipe, best pumpkin recipes, stuffed pumpkin, pumpkin soup, pumpkin pasta, pumpkin risotto, pumpkin curry, vegan pumpkin recipe

Happy October, everyone! Speaking of which, it’s interesting how we celebrate seasons in San Francisco. The weather doesn’t exact vary, and we don’t get to experience that hot, endless summer that make us welcome that first little chill that signals fall’s beginning. But that tingly feeling of autumn’s arrival is one of my favorite sensations, and I refuse to part with it even though there’s nary a fallen leaf in sight to crunch under my feet.

I’ve always had an odd relationship with pumpkins, both adoring/anthropomorphising them for their cuteness while simultaneously wanting to devour them in every possible form. Now that I think about it, I’d imagine it’s how meat-eaters feel about baby farm animals. But somehow I reconcile my conflicted feelings as I start adding pumpkin to everything from oatmeal to martinis (the latter was ill-advised) to celebrate September and October.

Even though I love pumpkin pie as much as the next girl, there’s something about savory pumpkin recipes that particularly piques my interest. Devoid of sugary sweetness and infused with spice, I love how each of these seven savory recipes make the most of fall’s most famous veggie.

Recipes/photo credits, from top left down:

Emily’s Butternut Squash and Black Bean Chili in Pumpkin Bowls : oh she glows

Pumpkin Pasta : Whole Living

Curried Coconut-Pumpkin Stew : Whole Living

Spiced Pumpkin Soup with Ginger Browned Butter : Sunset

Butternut Squash (or Pumpkin!) Mac ‘n Cheez : oh she glows

The Stuffed Pumpkin Recipe that Would Make Martha Proud : sanfranista (tee hee!)

Pumpkin Risotto : A Beautiful Mess

Standard

One thought on “7 Fantastic Savory Pumpkin Recipes

Come on, tell me!

