My Outfits, Places

Wear/Where : Black Maxi Skirt & Stripes in Jack London Square

Heinold's Oakland, Jack London Bar, Jack London Square bar, best bar in Jack London Square

Heinold's Oakland, Jack London Bar, Jack London Square bar, best bar in Jack London Square

I could go on (ok, I have gone on) for hours about all the different things I love about living in the Bay Area. From the mouthwatering vegetarian options to sweeping bridge views, it’s a pretty fantastic place to plant your feet. But what makes this area truly feel like home are the people within it.

When Jim and I moved here three years ago from Chicago, I had a few friends scattered across various bridges and one cousin who I hadn’t seen since I graduated high school. Since then, our network has blossomed and relationships have deepened with two aunts, a multitude of cousins, and one hell of a support network of friends. Jim’s cousin and his wife moved out here a few months ago, and seeing them every week reminds me of that rare breed of people who you love hanging out with who also happen to be related to you. It’s definitely not something to take for granted.

Jim and I grabbed these shots earlier this summer when exploring Jack London square with two of the aforementioned cousins. They’ve made Oakland their home, and even as newcomers they’ve been schooling us on all the amazing things to do in the east bay. We spend the day in Jack London Square, hitting up Heinold’s First and Last Chance Saloon, where the bar is slanted and fake spiders drop from the ceiling (I know, but it was worth it). The beer was cold and local, the bartenders were hilarious, and after an hour it truly felt like the place where everyone knows your name.

Oh, and please tell me what you think about my new name for outfit/place posts! I like to write about what I wear and where I wear it to (wow, that was a lot of wear/wheres), hence the “Wear/Where” title. The description should make the posts easier to find if you’re looking for something in particular, so let me know what you think!

black maxi skirt, maxi skirt style, grey and black style, maxi skirt with sweater

Heinold's Oakland, Jack London Bar, Jack London Square bar, best bar in Jack London Square

Heinold's Oakland, Jack London Bar, Jack London Square bar, best bar in Jack London Square Heinold's Oakland, Jack London Bar, Jack London Square bar, best bar in Jack London Square

Jack London Square

Heinold's Oakland, Jack London Bar, Jack London Square bar, best bar in Jack London Square

Standard

Come on, tell me!

