My Outfits, Places

The Roof on Wilshire

The Roof on Wilshire, rooftop brunch, rooftop cocktails, Beverly Hills style, polka dot dress, Xhiliration polka dot dress, Target polka dot dress Dress: Xhiliration, Heels: Franco Sarto (circa 2007)

Clearly, there’s more to Beverly Hills than visiting scenes from Pretty Woman. But I couldn’t resist getting brunch one morning atop Hotel Wilshire, even if its connection to the movie is in name only. I heard about this rooftop gem when reading through a “Best of Los Angeles” list, and I can certainly see why it made the cut. From its crisp, modern architecture to its sprawling views of the Hollywood Hills, this is one must-go destination that lived up to its reputation. Even my salad and cappuccino were tiny little works of art.

I already showed you the top half of this dress when I wore it under a maxi skirt for BeautyCon, but I’m finally unveiling it in all its junior-sized glory. Fortunately I like my hemlines pretty darn high, given that I’m pretty sure this dress was fit for someone under 5’4″ (or a really confident 16-year-old). I love the playful flounce of the skirt, and you already know how I feel about polka dots. Add a pan collar, and I’m done for.

I spotted this dress while peeking online at new arrivals at Target, and as soon as I saw this little number, I took my lunch break to run over to the City Target across the street. I had no idea that it was part of a design collaboration between Target and Blair Eadie Atlantic-Pacific until I saw her post on it the following week. What a happy little coincidence! I took a size larger than I normally would due to the juniors sizing, but the soft fabric and great amount of stretch make for a flexible fit.

Even though I wore this during a 90-degree Los Angeles day, I’m already planning to wear it for fall in San Francisco with a pair of bright red tights, my faithful suede booties, and my favorite black denim jacket. We’re in the throes of San Francisco summer over here (it was 85 degrees last weekend!), but I know it’s only a matter of time before the fog rolls back in.

The Roof on Wilshire, rooftop brunch, rooftop cocktails, Beverly Hills style, polka dot dress, Xhiliration polka dot dress, Target polka dot dress

The Roof on Wilshire, rooftop brunch, rooftop cocktails, Beverly Hills style, rooftop pool Los Angeles

The Roof on Wilshire, rooftop brunch, rooftop cocktails, Beverly Hills style, LA rooftop pool, Los Angeles rooftop pool

The Roof on Wilshire, rooftop brunch, rooftop cocktails, Beverly Hills style, rooftop pool Los Angeles

The Roof on Wilshire, rooftop brunch, rooftop cocktails, Beverly Hills style, polka dot dress, Xhiliration polka dot dress, Target polka dot dress

The Roof on Wilshire, rooftop brunch, rooftop cocktails, Beverly Hills style, polka dot dress, Xhiliration polka dot dress, Target polka dot dress

Standard

4 thoughts on “The Roof on Wilshire

  1. Ah! Wish I had known you were heading here. One of my best friends from middle/high school works there! Love the hair, and also love seeing you on neutral couch with the pop of color after reading your more recent post on how that’s how you like to do home decor πŸ™‚

Come on, tell me!

