Snaps

Five Quick Snaps

San Francisco bay, Aquatic Park beach, Aquatic Park SF

It’s been a while since I posted my last five quick snaps, and I was realizing that I’ve just had so many things to write about that I stopped taking time to bring together fun little details. As much as I love outfit posts and telling you about cool places I went, I think it’s those little details you could easily miss that make life so interesting.

And speaking of little details, yes, that is me in the water sans wetsuit. No, it’s no photoshopped, and yes, that is indeed the San Francisco Bay. We had a rare 80-degree day last weekend, and I had to seize the day. It was fantastic, and my toes only turned slightly blue.

anchor scarf, nautical scarf, nautical print scarf, america's cup san francisco

Ok, I know I’ve said it around 50 times, but I was damn proud of my nautical-themed pashmina afghan that I wore to America’s Cup. For those who have no idea what I’m talking about, google “Lonely Island On a Boat” and be sure to watch the censored version if you prefer not to have your speakers explode with profanity. Anyway, it was a simply gorgeous day, and it was so inspiring to see a community come together to watch the races. More on that soon!

macaroon tower, french maracroon, los angeles bakery, bottege louie los angeles, bottega louie la

Have you ever had a real beignet before? Seriously- have you? Because I thought I was living life to the fullest, but then I stepped into Bottega Louie in downtown Los Angeles, and everything changed. I devoured the beignet too quickly to photograph it (seriously, it was embarrassing), but the macaroon tower bravely survived Hurricane Sarah.

palmer's tavern, palmer's cocktails, palmer's sf, palmer's san francisco, cocktails in pacific heights

I mentioned before that a new bar called Palmer’s just moved in to our neighborhood, and I’ve officially fallen in love with it. From the plush red leather stools to its magician-like bartenders, it’s proof that value really does lie in the details. Even their liquor display is a warm, well-lit work of art. Time for a sazerac!

mercy vintage oakland, mercy vintage now, vintage clothing oakland, vintage clothing piedmont, vintage store piedmont

Even though I’ve been wearing a hell of a lot of black & white lately, my first love will always be color. I had the opportunity to attend an event at Mercy Vintage Now in Oakland, a fantastically-curated establishment that showcases beautiful vintage clothes. For their Stage:Play event last Friday, I had the opportunity to preview 90’s-era designer pieces actually worn by Kim Gordon of Sonic Youth. I had my eye on a particularly fantastic Marc Jacobs dress covered in shimmering metallic discs, but my attempts to will the dress to grow two sizes larger were unsuccessful. Here it is in the bonus snap below:

mercy vintage oakland, mercy vintage now, vintage clothing oakland, vintage clothing piedmont, vintage store piedmont, kim gordon mercy vintage
Happy Tuesday, friends! I so appreciate you stopping by, and I hope you’ll stick around this week for fun outfit photos and my wearable guide to the trends we’re seeing right now at New York Fashion Week.

Standard

Come on, tell me!

