My Outfits

You Remind Me of the Babe

sanfranista style, cozy edgy style, gold and black style, gold and black fashion

Sweet Rain sweater, Gap pants, Zara boots, Urban Outfitters & Forever 21 elephant necklace, Modalu bag, Express beanie

From the second I saw these boots peeking out at me, I couldn’t get the image of David Bowie out of my head. Even though his career spans multiple decades (rock on, dude), I’ll always think of him as Jareth, the glitter-fabulous Goblin King in Labyrinth. If you were friends with me in middle school or high school, you were almost certainly forced to watch it at one of my birthday parties. And every sleepover I hosted. Ever.

If you’re not familiar with the movie or DB’s character, think lots of spandex, capes, 80’s hair, and more glitter than an 8th grade dance. His costumes were part glam rock, part early 80’s punk, and completely ridiculous. In my twelve-year-old mind, Jareth was the perfect combination of toughness and style, of masculinity and oddly feminine makeup, and I was torn between wanting to be like him and wanting to marry him. Explains quite a few of my fashion choices, right?

As tempting as it would be to channel Jareth with a full-on ruffled tuxedo shirt and a blue velvet jacket, I decided to aim the focus on the Bowie boots by keeping the rest of my outfit tailored, dark, and simple. I liked how the warm brass tone of the zipper on the sweater play off the necklaces I layered, and I have a feeling this outfit is going to become a new staple. It’s comfy and cozy but still makes me feel a little badass.

Now go watch Labyrinth. You’ll thank me later.

Photography by J.M. Mericle at Thread & Bones.

Chloe studded boots, Zara Chloe studded boots, Zara buckle boots

sanfranista style, cozy edgy style, gold and black style, gold and black fashion

Layering necklaces, gold necklaces, Forever 21 elephant necklace

Modalu Pippa bag, Modalu Pippa shark bag, Modalu Pippa tote

Mission mural, Mission birdhouse mural

Mission mural, Mission birdhouse mural

Standard

3 thoughts on “You Remind Me of the Babe

  1. You can’t go wrong with a classic, black silhouette, and those boots are the perfect finishing touch. Labyrinth has always been at the bottom of my list of movies to watch – I should get to it this summer!

  2. Pingback: Fab on the Web: Blogger Style Roundup | sanfranista

Come on, tell me!

