My Outfits, Places

Gatsby Style: Channeling Miss Daisy

Gatsby style, Daisy Buchanan, Gatsby costume, flapper style, Alice Olivia dress, 20's style, 20's fashion

Gatsby style, Daisy Buchanan, Gatsby costume, flapper style, Alice Olivia dress, 20's style, 20's fashion

        Alice + Olivia dress, Brighton necklace, Forever21 headband, Via Spiga pumps

It’s not every Saturday night that I bust out a full-on flapper dress and heels. Then again, it’s not every Saturday night that I attend a Gatsby-themed murder mystery dinner party in the heart of the Haight. My friend and fellow fashion blogger JM Mericle of Thread & Bones had the inspired idea to throw the soiree to end all soirees- 1920’s style. The night was full of laughter, dangerously potent gin punch, and costumes that transported me back to Jay Gatsby’s fabulous parties.

Gatsby style, Daisy Buchanan, Gatsby costume, flapper style, Alice Olivia dress, 20's style, 20's fashion, Gatsby costume party

When I entered the apartment-come-speakeasy, I left Sarah Lee behind as I assumed the persona of the fearsome gun moll Billie Baird. The guests slipped in and out of character while they dropped 1920’s slang and listened carefully for clues. My attention-shy husband even agreed to take on the role of mobster Babyface O’Toole, complete with Chicago accent. It’s amazing what a little punch can do!

Gatsby style, Daisy Buchanan, Gatsby costume, flapper style, Alice Olivia dress, 20's style, 20's fashion

I fell in love with this Alice + Olivia dress after seeing Ali wearing it on her season of The Bachelorette (don’t judge!). It was one of the first pieces of clothing that truly stunned me, and I knew that I had to have it in my life. Being halfway through grad school, there was no way that I could drop hundreds of dollars on a dress that I’d only wear a few times a year.

But I’m not a girl who gives up easily.

Alice + Olivia dress, Alice Olivia dress, Alice Olivia 20's dress, Brighton pendant

Many hours of searching and a two fierce eBay battles later, I brought my size XL prize to a tailor and had her work her magic. I love wearing it with toned-down accessories for special (post-1920’s) occasions, but it works so well as a flapper costume with the addition of a few glitzy accessories. Fun fact: I wore the pearl bracelet on our wedding day!

It was certainly a night to remember, old sport.

Gatsby style, Daisy Buchanan, Gatsby costume, flapper style, Alice Olivia dress, 20's style, 20's fashion, Gatsby costume party

Gatsby style, Daisy Buchanan, Gatsby costume, flapper style, Alice Olivia dress, 20's style, 20's fashion

20's jewelry, pearl bracelet

Gatsby style, Daisy Buchanan, Gatsby costume, flapper style, Alice Olivia dress, 20's style, 20's fashion, Gatsby costume party

Gatsby style, Daisy Buchanan, Gatsby costume, flapper style, Alice Olivia dress, 20's style, 20's fashion, Gatsby costume party

Gatsby style, Daisy Buchanan, Gatsby costume, flapper style, Alice Olivia dress, 20's style, 20's fashion, Gatsby costume party

Gatsby style, Daisy Buchanan, Gatsby costume, flapper style, Alice Olivia dress, 20's style, 20's fashion, Gatsby costume party

Gatsby style, Daisy Buchanan, Gatsby costume, flapper style, Alice Olivia dress, 20's style, 20's fashion

Gatsby10

Standard

6 thoughts on “Gatsby Style: Channeling Miss Daisy

  1. This looks like SO much fun! I went all 20s-dress for the actual premiere of the Gatsby movie, and it was a blast. Much less gin at the movie than at this party, though, so I’m gonna say your party probably was better 😉

    And you DEF are channeling Ms. Daisy, though hopefully without all the horribleness, haha!

    • It must have been amazing to see so many people dressed up at the premiere! I thought about wearing my dress when I went to see it, but I tend to slouch & put my feet up at movie, which would have been a bit scandalous…

  2. That headband is absolutely the berries — you are one dolled up dame! Can’t believe you beat me to posting, you old bearcat. These images are the bee’s knees, gotta get my paws on a camera like Jim’s for all future speakeasy events. Even the cat looks fabulous!
    xo
    -JM
    http://www.threadandbones.com

    • Well, the cat certainly should be fabulous- he lives with a pretty fabulous gent and dame! We’ll have to get together over a gimlet and look through all the photographs from your soiree 🙂

  3. Pingback: Daisy, Daisy, Do | sanfranista

  4. Pingback: Thread and Bones |

Come on, tell me!

