My Outfits

What a Stud!

Zara military top, Vince skinny jeans, Vince pants, fashion studs

Zara military top, Vince skinny jeans, Vince pants, fashion studs

Zara blouse, Vince jeans (other colors here), Urban Sidewalk headband, Nine West flats (similar here), Marc by Marc Jacobs Watch

Through styling women all day at my new job, I’ve started to think of fashion in terms of categories. Rhianna is straight-up edgy, Jennifer Aniston epitomizes casual-chic, and Lindsay Lohan is a hot mess (too soon?). I hadn’t categorized myself before, but I now realize that the way I dress myself is pretty darn inconsistent. One day I’m wearing faux leather leggings or having a serious hipster moment, and the next I’m wearing pearls and crochet.

But hey- style is a constantly changing thing. Pieces I loved last year are now finding new owners at Goodwill, and photos of myself from five years ago seem to be of a completely different girl. I had my punk-rock phase (ok, decade), and I certainly had my preppy days (no, really!). Turns out, my true personal style is a hybrid instead of a type- sort of a romantic/edgy compromise.

I love my champagne and sequins, but I’m also a sucker for plaid and porter.

Sometimes I’m pretty obvious about it, like when I pair polka dots with a motorcycle jacket, but on days like today I let the outfit supply the edge and bring a little sweetness with the makeup. Rosy cheeks and an otherwise bare face can keep a hardware-heavy look from becoming too Hell’s Angels. And oh, how I love my studs!

Zara military top, Vince skinny jeans, Vince pants, fashion studs

Zara military top, Vince skinny jeans, Vince pants, fashion studs

Zara military top, Vince skinny jeans, Vince pants, fashion studs

Zara military top, Vince skinny jeans, Vince pants, fashion studs

Standard

Come on, tell me!

