Inspirations

Love the Skin You’re In

Love the Skin You're In

With summer around the corner, it’s easy to neglect your skin when there’s beach time and margaritas to be had. But good skin takes time and energy, which motivates me to scrub and moisturize even after the longest day.

You see, when someone compliments me on my skin, it always takes me a second to realize they’re not being sarcastic. For most of my adult life, I’ve thought of my skin as an insidious enemy intent on wreaking social and emotional destruction. When I was a teenager and early twenty-something, blazing rosacea and cystic acne made me hide my face under layers of caked-on foundation that fooled no one, least of all me.

However, as my friends will tell you, I can get very set on doing something and refuse to rest until I complete it. Twelve years and several hundred (no joke) products attempts later, I’ve finally found the regimen that works for me. I still wear makeup on a daily basis, but I’m also fine running errands and meeting up with friends bare-faced. That might sounds trivial, but it’s a huge step for me.

I’ve assembled my holy grail (HG) products above. Exfoliation is hugely important for me (and really, almost everyone), and I love the gentle daily exfoliation I get from my Clarisonic facial brush. I use it twice daily with a squirt of the Neutrogena cleanser to remove my makeup and any pollution from daily city life. In the morning after cleansing, I use Aveeno’s Positively Radiant moisturizer. I love that it has SPF, and it wears nicely under makeup.

In the evening after cleansing, I use Neutrogena’s Rapid Wrinkle Repair. I’ve always been a proponent of starting anti-aging products early, and the retinol in this serum also reduces discoloration and unclogs pores, which helps prevent acne. On dry areas, I use the First Aid Beauty Ulta Repair Cream, which is wonderfully moisturizing and dirt-cheap (my usual size is $12 and lasts half a year). Instead of a separate eye cream, I carefully apply both the serum and the moisturizer under my eyes.

Twice weekly in the PM, I follow up cleansing with the Origins Modern Friction scrub, which I LOVE. It’s gentle enough for my sensitive skin, but it does a serious job unclogging my pores and softening my skin. I’ve actually noticed a reduction in acne scarring since I started using it, which is my final skin-issue frontier.

Finally, taking flax seed capsules twice daily has made a huge difference in reducing dryness in my skin and the redness that comes along with rosacea. If I skip taking them for a week, I start to notice the fine lines under my eyes becoming more pronounced and the skin around my nails starting to peel (gross, but I want to make my point!). I can’t say enough good things about it. For non-vegetarians, fish oil is a great option as well. Obviously check in with your doctor before you start taking any supplements.

Even though these products aren’t for everyone, I wish someone had told me about them when I was a teenager before my decade of product experimentation! I use them all religiously, and I’m amazed and grateful at the change I’ve noticed.

Note: I haven’t received any compensation or free products of any kind for writing this post. I just really love this stuff!

Standard

Come on, tell me!

