My Outfits, Places

Dresses and Sunshine and Champagne, oh my!

stylish dresses, floral dresses, Napa dress

Groth Winery, Groth Napa

As much as I love San Francisco, sometimes I need to challenge our monogamous relationship and spend some time in other cities. Hey, absence makes the heart grow fonder! So, I recently left my city behind to travel to Napa with a group of my girlfriends. The trip was to celebrate more than a few twentyschmuh and thirtyschmuh birthdays (“schmuh” being the appropriate suffix for an indeterminate age).

Honig Napa, Honig Winery

The weekend was full of blue skies, warm sun, and more than a little champagne. In an inspired move, one of the ladies suggested (strongly) that we all wear dresses when wine tasting. I wouldn’t have thought to dress up for the occasion, but it was the perfect excuse to bust out a dress that’s been sitting in the back of my closet since my grad school graduation back in 2010.

Napa3

As I wrote in the first post of my Closet Chronicles, it’s easy to get into a style rut and wear the same things over and over, neglecting the majority of your closet in the process. I’ll discuss it more in the second CC installment, but the closet evaluation process has made me realize how exclusively I dress in fitted, crewneck styles with short hemlines. It felt a little funny to put on this flowy dress with the deep v-neck, but after a few minutes and much encouragement from my friends, I felt like a new woman.

Napa15

After seeing each of my friends in their gorgeous dresses, I’m more inspired than ever to break out of my comfort zone. I tend to avoid vibrant shades and prints without even realizing it, but I’m rethinking my same-old, same-old approach after seeing my friends looking so spring-y and vibrant (case in point, the photo above).

Cheers!Honig Napa, Honig Winery

Napa13

Groth Winery, Groth Napa

Napa7

Mumm Napa, Mumm champagne, champagne glasses

Napa1bGroth Winery, Groth Napa

Napa12

Napa1bMumm Napa, Mumm coaster, champagne quote

Standard

3 thoughts on “Dresses and Sunshine and Champagne, oh my!

  1. Pingback: Festival del Sole 2013 | sanfranista

  2. Pingback: Dinner for Nine |

Come on, tell me!

