Opinion

Everything’s Coming Up Changes

Berkeley Hills, San Francisco sunsetI’m sorry. I know I’ve been neglecting you. Here’s a pretty picture Jim took of the bay to make up for it. Two months ago, my posts came with regularity, and I was always working on something new. February and March, however, were a very different story. I know I’ve been vagueblogging a bit about some big things going on in my life, and now I’m in a place where I can share it with you (yay, emotional posts!).

I haven’t talked about my day job much on here, partially for privacy but also because it wasn’t something I particularly wanted to talk about. After six years of working towards a permanent career as Marriage & Family Therapist, I realized that I had pursued the career I felt like I “should” pursue, instead of one that felt like it would truly make me happy. I was getting burned out, but I felt like I was obligated to continue on the path I was on. Now I’m changing that.

It was scary to admit that my life was about to change dramatically, but with the support of friends and family and the epiphanies that can only come from sitting in a mountain cabin, I decided to take the leap. I had to leave my job without having another one lined up since I needed to give my clients ample notice and time to process my departure. Not stressful at all, right?

However, as one of my friends said, everything’s been coming up roses for me, and I’m so grateful. After a quick visit to see my family in Minnesota next week, I start my new job as a stylist at one of the most exciting fashion/tech startups in the country. It’s going to be a whole different schedule and whole new world, but pursuing this path just feels so right. It’s like a much more monumental version of when I cut off all my hair- scary at the time, but so freeing and so me.

Now that I’m back on track, I feel much more like myself, especially the part of myself that loves to write and share what I wear and where I go with you. So, away we go!

Standard

9 thoughts on “Everything’s Coming Up Changes

  1. Congrats! Making that kind of decision is always difficult–I know (this applies to both the career change and the chopping-off-all-your-hair thing, haha). But when you know in your gut that it’s the right move, you just have to take that leap! Happy to hear you were able to do it. Can’t wait to see what’s next!

    • Thank you so much, and I’m definitely with you on clarity! It’s amazing how much your perspective and goals can change over time. Thank you for reading 🙂

  2. congratulations and welcome to your true self and your true path! ahhh! the feeling of a beautiful and honest life has no equal! looking forward to all your adventures to come! yeah!!!

    • Thanks so much, Pete! I was definitely inspired by talking to you at the fashion/tech event and learning about how you’re pursuing your dream as well 🙂 We still need to get together and shoot!

  3. Pingback: Simple Stripes | sanfranista

  4. Pingback: Back to School – Then & Now |

Come on, tell me!

