My Outfits

“Hipster” is Not a Dirty Word

Faux leather vest, skinny black jeans, and Sam Edelman "Petty" bootiesGap sweater (circa 2003, similar here), Target tank top, Express jeans (last seen here), Spyder vest, Sam Edelman “Petty” booties, Marc by Marc Jacobs fingerless gloves (similar here- $6!), Marc by Marc Jacobs watch, Wirenamemike custom bracelet (see my gold version here), mystery hat

You know it’s going to be a good day when your husband says that your outfit looks like a hipster Halloween costume. Although I was monetarily offended at the “costume” portion of his remark, I reminded myself that he once referred to my gorgeous Via Spiga nubuck heels as “those weird shoe thingies.” So there. And although many consider “hipster” to be a slur, I’m in the camp that considers it to be a harmless love of whiny music, skinny jeans, and a few too many striped sweaters. It could be worse!

I’ll fully admit that this outfit was a bit of a departure for me, since I rarely go for monochromatic looks and usually favor cheery colors and patterns. I dressed like this more often back in college, when Anti-Flag was on constant iPod rotation and I fancied myself a bit of a badass. But it was a badass kind of day, and who am I to deny my own impulses? After all, to deny our own impulses is to deny the very thing that makes us human.

Anyone who caught that movie quote without Googling it is now on my awesome list, by the way.

Finally, those are indeed my coveted Sam Edelman “Petty” booties on my feet! They were an early Christmas present, and I’m quite pleased with them. Full review/styling guide post to come!

Marc by Marc Jacobs watch and fingerless gloves

Standard

4 thoughts on ““Hipster” is Not a Dirty Word

    • Thank you so much, Megan! The color is by OPI, and I believe the name is “Every Day is Oktoberfest.” The color is a deep eggplant with red and brown shimmer 🙂

  1. “I’m in the camp that considers it to be a harmless love of whiny music, skinny jeans, and a few too many striped sweaters”

    Hilarious! Sometimes you just need to face the day as a badass hipster — and you probably got your coffee without any of the usual ‘tude, I would guess?

    =)

  2. Pingback: I’m a Lumberjack, and I’m Okay! « sanfranista

Come on, tell me!

