Snaps

Five Quick Snaps

#merryandbright- Surprise outdoor decorations in the marina.

A post shared by Sarah Lee (@sanfranista) on


Essential information for the #hipster #man.

A post shared by Sarah Lee (@sanfranista) on


Joy.

A post shared by Sarah Lee (@sanfranista) on


Man and dog. #instamood #picoftheday #puppy #pitbull

A post shared by Sarah Lee (@sanfranista) on


My favorite Christmas-lit house in Pacific Heights.

A post shared by Sarah Lee (@sanfranista) on

I get quite sentimental around the holidays, devouring sappy Christmas movies like they’re going out of style. I love stories about how the holidays bring families together, regardless of distance. I’ve always spent Christmas with my family, and this is the first year that we’ll be separated by thousands of miles.

This summer, my father underwent a life-threatening surgery that challenged our family but also drew us closer. Time truly seemed to slow down as I sat with my mom in the hospital in suburban Minnesota, waiting for my dad to heal. While I sat on the uncomfortable vinyl chair wrapped in a thin hospital blanket, I thought of my favorite Christmas memories with my dad as we drove slowly through the snow-covered streets and ruthlessly judged the Christmas lights on display. It’s tough to get a perfect ten, but when you do, you know you’ve earned a place in time.

My dad and I had the opportunity to weed through the early contenders when I flew back to see my family in mid-November, but the true contestants are now out in full force. Even though I won’t be in Minnesota this December 25th, I’m so grateful that the two of us can trade cell phone photos of our favorites (and the embarrassing attempts that fall short of our scrutinizing gaze). Here’s to being fortunate enough to uphold this tradition for another year.

one. On my way to a holiday party in the Marina, I stopped dead in my tracks when I caught sight of these little bulbs. A homeowner had put his or her faith in passerby by hanging beautiful, delicate ornaments on eye level with white twinkle lights.

two. Moustaches are truly taking off for the San Francisco set, and I couldn’t help passing on this essential guide on to a good friend and her misguided but adorable moustache-cultivating boyfriend.

three. My favorite Christmas tradition is seeing A Christmas Carol at the Guthrie Theater back in Minneapolis, and my mom gave me this beautiful keepsake edition last year. I’ve discovered that Charles Dickens’s writing style is actually pretty awesome!

four. This little capture of Jim and our good friend’s pitbull mix made my day!

five. My true perfect ten in holiday light land.

Standard

2 thoughts on “Five Quick Snaps

  1. Carrie Lee says:

    Sarah’s Mom here… sweetie- loved this post. Very difficult time made much easier by you coming home for your Dad’s surgery.

  2. Pingback: Five Quick Christmas Snaps « sanfranista

Come on, tell me!

