My Outfits

Leather & Lace

Crochet Tunic and Zara Leather JacketH&M crochet tunic (recently seen here), H&M leggings, Zara faux leather jacket (real leather version here), Coconuts by Matisse “Monah” boots, Guerlain “Rouge G de Guerlain” lipcolor in Gigi

Even an eternal weather optimist like me can acknowledge that it’s officially winter around here. In San Francisco, that means generally overcast, rainy weather that occasionally surprises you with a burst of sunshine. Regardless of the mild climate, it’s still time to shift my wardrobe into winter mode. Well, sort of.

Unlike some, I refuse to hide away my summer dresses and shorts from October through April. Instead of cutting my wardrobe in half, I choose to amplify it by layering my breeziest summer dresses with cool-weather staples that give new life to my old favorites. Scarves, tights, jackets, and layers of lightweight sweaters all allow me to wear my summer pieces straight through the new year.

My favorite way to mix seasons is toughening up my ladylike dresses with (usually faux) leather accents. While a leather moto jacket and buckled boots can be a little too Rebel Without a Cause, pairing them with a sweet crochet dress and girly pink lips makes the outfit edgy, not costume-y. The gauzy grey scarf below adds another romantic (and warm!) layer to the look without weighing it down. To get a sense of how versatile my crocheted tunic can be, check out how I styled it with shorts on an 85ΒΊ day last month in Sacramento.

What are your favorite summer dresses, and (how) do you wear them in winter?

All photos by MB Maher.

Crochet Tunic and Zara Leather JacketCrochet Tunic and Zara Leather Jacket

Standard

5 thoughts on “Leather & Lace

  1. I am forever convinced that leather and lace is one of the best combinations out there! You pull off the edgy romantic look perfectly with your pixie cut. I have so many summer dresses that I can’t wait to pull out of my closet and style up for winter! I recently wore one with a blouse underneath so it became a jumper of sorts. I usually just pile on a sweater to stay cozy. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks so much, Jen! I always love your layered looks on your blog, and I’m excited to see what you come up with as the weather gets chilly πŸ™‚

  2. Pingback: Forest Green Cords at Sunday Brunch « sanfranista

Come on, tell me!

