My Outfits

Minnesota Layers & Leaves

Minnesota Layers & Leaves 1

cAbi leather vest, Banana Republic sweater, cAbi skirt (similar here), H&M scarf (see it again here and here), Nine West boots, Laura Mercier Creme in “Bing Cherry” on lips

When I first moved to San Francisco, Jim and I got a kick out of seeing its citizens flailing and crying whenever the thermometer dropped below 50 degrees. We’d snicker and point whenever we saw someone bundled up in an ankle-length puffy coat that would be reserved for sub-zero temperatures back in our Minneapolis and Chicago hometowns. Wussies! we’d think. If only the spent a winter in Minnesota, they’d know what cold is and prepare for it.

Now, I’m one of them.

I’m visiting my family in Minnesota as I write this, and I simply didn’t pack enough warm stuff to wear. There’s a fresh carpet of snow on the ground, and the weather forecasts a high of 25º today. Yep, it’s cold.

One of the benefits of visiting my parents is that I can leave most of my belongings at home, since my mom uses most of the same products I do. She and I wear the same clothing size, so I wouldn’t pack PJ’s and winter coats. This time around, I wanted to explore her closet and see if I could create a full outfit.

I chose this fall-colored ensemble because it feels like me, but with some key differences. The sweater and scarf are my own, and everything else is my mom’s. I clearly have a miniskirt problem, and I don’t actually own any skirts that fall below the knee (or even at the knee). I was surprised at how “me” this skirt fell, and I was able to reap the same leg-lengthening benefits of a higher hemline by matching the skirt to the boots. Same color = illusion of longer length.

This coming Friday, I’ll feature a special outfit post with y mom in which I style both of us using a combination of items from her closet and the staples I brought with me. I’m excited to add a multi-generational spin to this week, and I look forward to hearing what you think about it!

Minnesota Layers & Leaves 2

Minnesota Layers & Leaves 3

Minnesota Layers & Leaves 4

Minnesota Layers & Leaves Skirt w/ Nine West Boots

Standard

Come on, tell me!

