Recipes

Gingered Split Pea Soup

Sarah's Split Pea SoupSplit pea soup is a satisfying, healthy meal that can be as comforting as a warm blanket during cold winter months (or, if you’re in San Francisco, temperate but gross and rainy winter months). Many recipes add a ham bone for flavor, but I use liquid smoke for a veggie-friendly soup that still has depth and lots of flavor. The optional butter is an addition that I learned about when I lived in India as a way to add richness to vegetarian lentil dishes.

The addition of ginger was a suggestion from my mom, who got the tip from an unknown Swedish couple in my family’s small Minnesotan hometown. My mom makes this recipe on many cold Minnesota nights, serving it with a side of garlic bread and a tasty egg custard for dessert. I’m making it with my crazy-easy apple crumble (recipe coming soon!), but this dish is so healthy that it practically begs for a dessert to go with it!

Green Split Peas

GINGERED SPLIT PEA SOUP
Serves 4-6

INGREDIENTS

3 cups water
5 1/2 cups vegetable broth
2 cups green or yellow split peas (use a combo for a pretty soup)
1 medium onion, chopped
2 tsp. liquid smoke
3 carrots, finely chopped
1/4 tsp. salt
1/2-1 tsp. ground ginger
2 tsp. fresh lemon juice
1 tbsp. butter (optional, omit to make vegan)

DIRECTIONS

1. Chop onion and carrots. Combine water, brother, split peas, liquid smoke, and onion in a large Dutch oven or stock pot over medium-high heat. Bring to a boil, cover, reduce heat, and simmer 1 hour, stirring occasionally.

2. Stir in carrots, salt, and ginger. Simmer, uncovered, 45 minutes.

3. Add butter and lemon juice, allowing butter to melt completely. Remove from heat, stir, and serve.

Let me know what you think of the recipe! Here’s a bonus detail shot from the kitchen of some mugs, perfect for serving a snack-size portion of soup.Sarah's Mugs

Standard

One thought on “Gingered Split Pea Soup

  1. I remember when I was younger I hated peas and so when I was forced to eat split pea soup I was scared to death. I ended up falling it love with it! But since then I haven’t had it again. I definitely want to try this out, especially with the colder weather, and I might just use your recipe! I’ve never heard of liquid smoke though! Gonna look into that. 🙂

Come on, tell me!

