My Outfits

Pan Collar + Shorts + Tights = Yes You Can!

Old Hollywood Pan Collar and ShortsForever 21 blouse, Express shorts, Forever 21 tights (similar here), Kelly + Katie booties, Crossroads sunglasses, Burberry Lip Mist in Feather Pink on lips

After years of scorn and derision, I’m a recent but enthusiastic convert to shorts with tights. Less than a year ago, I quietly judged women I would spot wearing tights, boots, and everything from jean cutoffs to cuffed silk culottes. It just seemed wrong to me; shorts should be reserved for beaches, casual picnics, and the grubbiest household chores. Wear them out, let alone to a dressy event? Oh, the humanity!

Then 2012 happened, and the new styles demanded that I reevaluate my rigid resistance. These shorts are sleek, well-tailored, and versatile enough to integrate their way into any outfit. Pairing shorts with tights also allows you to pull of a leg-lengthening micro-mini hemline without looking like a harlot or flashing the world every time you sit down. Who can argue with that?

To take my pro-shorts campaign further, wearing a pair of shorts over tights or leggings demonstrates that you understand the cardinal rule that leggings are simply not pants. I don’t care how many starlets blatantly ignore it; it’s a cold, hard fact, and an entire generation of high school women is going to grow up and shamefully shred all photos taken from 2011 and 2012. I know it’s been discussed ad nauseum, but it’s a fashion choice I simply cannot abide.

Shorts + Tights = Fashionable, Versatile, and Comfortable. Need I say more?

Also, please note that all photos are by the fabulous MB Maher.Old Hollywood Pan Collar and ShortsHoundstooth Tights and Buckled BootiesOld Hollywood Pan Collar and Shorts2

Standard

3 thoughts on “Pan Collar + Shorts + Tights = Yes You Can!

    • Depending on your field, you may be able to do a longer short that hits below mid-thigh or close to your knee. You could also go for knee-length culottes, which have the appearance of a skirt but are actually shorts!

      If you’re in a super laid-back creative field, I’d try some of the more conservative styles in richer fabrics like tweed and brocade. Pairing them with a high-necked blouse can help keep it conservative! Let me know if you end up giving it a shot 🙂

Come on, tell me!

