My Outfits

Just in Time for Halloween: How Zombies and Sequins Go Together

Super Layers with Cardigan, Chambray, Sequins, Zombie T-ShirtKnitted Dove cardigan, Urban Outfitters chambray shirt, Threadless t-shirt, Urban Outfitters sequin tank, Paperboy trousers, Franco Sarto sandals, Burberry Lip Mist in Copper

My husband can pinpoint the moment that he knew it was going to marry me, and it involved zombies. I had met him through a friend of a friend back in 2006, and we were all hanging around, drinking Hawkeye vodka and chatting about movies (it was in Iowa, ok?). At one point, someone asked me about what kind of movies I liked. Without pausing, I replied, “The zombie-r, the better.”

Apparently that’s all it took. Who knew?

In honor of zombies (and Halloween, aka the best day of the year), I pulled out my old Threadless “In Case of Zombies” shirt and gave it a fun remix. Back in September, I challenged myself to create a super-layered, super-loose look, which pretty much defies the rules I’ve been using to dress myself since high school. When I started to layer my favorite sequin top with my zombie t-shirt, a chambray shirt, and yet another sweater, it went from intimidating to just plain fun. I’d wear this look on a relaxed weekend day to keep myself insulated from the fall chill but ready to shed layers in case the sun came out.

I’ll be rocking my Link from The Legend of Zelda costume this evening while I trick-or-treat with my awesome little cousins. Who or what will you be going as tonight?

All photos by the fabulous MB Maher.Sequins, "In Case of Zombies," Chambray, CardiganSuper Layers with Cardigan, Chambray, Sequins, Tee2Super Layers with Cardigan, Chambray, Sequins, Tee4Here’s a close-up of the “In Case of Zombies” shirt. I got it back in 2006, but you can still buy it on Threadless!Threadless "In Case of Zombies"

Standard

3 thoughts on “Just in Time for Halloween: How Zombies and Sequins Go Together

  1. Pingback: Crochet and Cutoffs in Old Sacramento « sanfranista

  2. Pingback: Inspired by Gossip Girl Fashion: Crimson Sweater + Sequins + Chevron « sanfranista

  3. Pingback: Outfit Post: Misty Moss in Mill Valley « sanfranista

Come on, tell me!

