My Outfits, Places

One with the Leaves

J Brand cords, Frye boots, and Old Navy checkered shirt

J Brand “Love Story” Cords (Nordstrom Rack, denim version here), Old Navy Button-Down (similar here), Frye “Lucy” boot, Coach Purse (outlet, circa 2007), Crossroards Sunglasses

Anyone who knows me knows I truly and deeply love fall in the Midwest. When I went off to college hundreds of miles away from my family’s home in small-town Minnesota, I would skip coming back for Thanksgiving in favor of returning in magical mid-October. Spiced hot cider, pumpkins the size of your torso, and crisp fall air laced with wood smoke all come together to create a feeling that literally makes me tingle as I write about it.

I can’t fly back this year, but I can try to create my own warm fall world here in San Francisco. I’m seeking out local apple orchards, burying myself in cable-knit sweaters, and constantly baking pumpkin-inspired goods. I’ve also taken to integrating warm fall colors into my outfits. On occasion, I go buck-wild and wear them all at once, as I did in today’s outfit. I love how the warm yellow, rich copper, dusty brown, and polished burgundy play together like the fiery fall leaves that swirl down from the Minnesota treetops.

I’ll spare you the long story behind the acquisition of these cords, but I will say I drooled over them for months when I was working at Nordstrom. “Obsession” is too strong, but only slightly. I finally decided to blow my entire budget on them but found out they’d been shipped to the Nordstrom Rack in SOMA only hours earlier. Apparently not everyone shares my appreciation for Daphne-esque high-waisted copper flares. I zoomed over to the Rack and snatched them up in two colors at an 80% discount. Meant to be? Absolutely.

All the photos here were shot by the lovely J.M. of Thread and Bones. She’s been one of my blogger inspirations since I first started, and it was amazing to meet her in person before she departs for her world adventures! We enjoyed brunch in the Haight and then wandered around to play in front of this beautiful mural. I’m seeing her later today to shoot some outfits that can withstand the gloomy fog we’ve been having lately, so you’ll definitely hear more about her soon.

Now, go drink a cup of cider!

Listening to: “Houdini” – Foster the People

J Brand cords, Frye boots, and Old Navy checkered shirt

J Brand cords, Frye boots, and Old Navy checkered shirt

J Brand Pants and Coach bag

J Brand cords, Frye boots, and Old Navy checkered shirt

Street view of the falling leaves mural in the Haight, San Francisco

Sarah of Sanfranista and J.M. of Thread & Bones outside of Cafe du Soleil

Standard

4 thoughts on “One with the Leaves

  1. Love the story of how you got those cords Sarah! There’s nothing quite like that feeling of picking up the exact item you’ve been obsessing over for a discount. Total triumph!
    And thanks for the shout out! So lovely to hang with you too. Hope we can fit in a lot more over cider =)

  2. Pingback: What to Wear on a Crisp Fall Day? Why, Cable-Knit & Burgundy! « sanfranista

  3. Pingback: That 70′s Show « sanfranista

  4. Pingback: Thread and Bones |

Come on, tell me!

