Inspirations

Style Inspiration: Ladylike Chic

20121003-152359.jpg
I woke up this morning with a gargantuan spider bite… Right in the middle of my face. I’ll spare you the gory details (that would involve adjectives such as “lumpy,” “oozing,” and “traumatizing”), but suffice to say my face belongs nowhere near a camera until my body can exorcise this venom demon.

Fortunately, my blogroll has been positively crackling with inspirational energy. I’m rarely on the lookout for a particular trend when I’m seeking inspiration, but I’m definitely noticing a berry-colored, ladylike theme here. I love how these looks with their tailored, feminine silhouettes and sweet little details (I’m a sucker for a pan collar) still have a grown-up, fashion-forward edge.

The silhouette in this look from Fashion Toast is sweet as can be, but keeping the palette muted and the eye makeup smoky brings this into edgy territory.

20121003-134715.jpg

A classic look like this one from Classy Girls Wear Pearls can easily become stuffy, but the delicious mix of textures and chunky accessories gives it a playful vibe.

20121003-153724.jpg

I seriously can’t get over this look from Glamour UK. The color scheme is so rich and on-trend, and it has just the right amount of preppy school uniform feel without being costume-y. The metallic bag and polka-dot tights make it fun and keep it from being too conservative.

20121003-153907.jpg

This last image from my beloved Street Tonic manages to be prim and rock ‘n roll at the same time. Throwing the coat over the streamlined skirt and high-necked blouse is a practical and fashionable way to transition from day to night in this tricky San Francisco fall.
20121003-154004.jpg
Ok, now I’m in the mood to bust out my fancy jackets and circle skirts. Oh, and I’m pretty sure I need one of these hats. Think I can pull it off without looking like a stick figure with no hair? If I pull it low enough, I could cover my whole face and lose the coffee cup.

20121003-151524.jpg

Standard

2 thoughts on “Style Inspiration: Ladylike Chic

  1. I wish I could pull off hats like that without looking super out of place. I’m pretty sure you could still wear it without looking bald. 😛

    • Thanks for the vote of confidence, but if my expeditions yesterday were any indication, it just doesn’t work without hair 😦 I looked like a scarecrow. An on-trend scarecrow, but nonetheless.

Come on, tell me!

