My Outfits

Polka Dots with a Side of Mustard

Vintage Jacket, Polka Dot Dress, Mustard Tights, Winchell Boots

Forever 21 dress (similar here), vintage jacket (Steeple People Thrift, circa 2002), thrifted shorts, H&M tights, Vince Camuto boots

In case you can’t tell, I’m having a bit of a polka dot moment. They’ve always been my favorite pattern (with houndstooth nipping at their heels), and I love that they’re everywhere this season, from Spring 2013 Fashion Week to the aisles of Forever 21. They can easily be girlish and innocent, or you can give them some edge by shrinking the hemline and adding some tough accessories. Yep, I’m wearing these same boots again! Can you blame me?

I love how the cute little buttons on the jacket echo the polka dot pattern in the dress. I’m working my way up to combining multiple polka dots in the same outfit, so this was my timid foray down that road.

Vintage Jacket, Polka Dot Dress, Mustard Tights, Winchell Boots

I found the shorts/skirt thing I’m layering under the dress at a thrift store in North Dakota back in 2004 when I was working on the John Kerry campaign (I’m dating myself here, I know). I always reach for them whenever my dress is veering into shirt territory, which I must admit happens often. When I bought this dress, I could have worn it to a church social without a second thought. One trip in the dryer later… Not so much.

I love the look of a sky-high hemline, but nobody (outside of Jersey Shore, Toddlers & Tiaras, and the crowd who frequents The Bermuda Triangle) wants to let it veer into hoochie territory. When in doubt, I add the shorts and thick tights. I love the look of mustard tights this season, but I knew I needed a pair that was more French’s than Grey Poupon. As always, H&M kindly obliged.

Vintage Jacket, Polka Dot Dress, Mustard Tights, Winchell Boots

In other news, my husband has reentered the world of photography after a several year hiatus. He took all these shots of me, and he just started his own street photography Tumblr. Next week, I’ll do an eye candy post of all the amazing photos he took at the Vintage Fashion Expo I wore this outfit to. Until then, happy weekend!

Vintage Jacket, Polka Dot Dress, Mustard Tights, Winchell Boots

Standard

3 thoughts on “Polka Dots with a Side of Mustard

  1. Kerri Engel says:

    Sarah Lee you are so cute! I stumbled upon your blog via Facebook and just love it! I moved back to the Twin cities 1 year ago after 6 years in NYC, so I’m going to live fashion vicariously through you! Keep up the good work and hope you’re doing well!

  2. Pingback: 5 Things Every Woman (or Open-Minded Man) Needs in Her Closet | sanfranista

  3. Pingback: How I Found My Quarter-Life Crisis at the Vintage Fashion Expo | sanfranista

Come on, tell me!

