My Outfits, Places

How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love Outfit Repeating

San Francisco's Upper Haight, wearing Gap cardigan, ATM tee, Gap shorts, H&M tights, Vince Camuto Winchell boots

Gap cardigan, ATM tee, Gap jeans (DIY cutoffs),
H&M tights, Vince Camuto boots

Yesterday, I received a Facebook message from an old high school friend. She commented that she’s been following my blog (woohoo!) and then asked the question I’ve heard several times recently.

“So, now that you’re writing this fashion blog, does that mean you get dressed up every day? Do you ever just wear jeans and a shirt?”

In a way, it’s much more interesting and exciting to check out fashion blogs featuring high-fashion, funky, totally out-there outfits that you would never actually see on a sidewalk outside of Fashion Week. Much of the reason I subscribe to eight different fashion magazines (I’m serious) is to be inspired, to be amazed, to be transported into an alternate reality in which everyone has perfect hair and a tank top costs $479.

But I’m also honest with myself. I don’t have it in me to be the next Susie Bubble, budget-wise or in terms of a personal aesthetic. As much as I love reading blogs like hers and Bryanboy’s, I know that there are hundreds (if not more) of women and men out there who can pull together out-of-this world outfits that would trump my every attempt. What I can do, however, is be honest and proud about my own style, whether it’s sequined and done up or relaxed and dressed down, like I was last Sunday.

San Francisco's Upper Haight, wearing Gap cardigan, ATM tee, Gap shorts, H&M tights, Vince Camuto Winchell boots

When I have no plans on a Sunday other than walking 2.6 miles from our apartment to the Haight with my husband, I don’t wear eye makeup, and I’m certainly not going to wear high heels. I’m also a proud clothing repeater. When I get a new pair of boots or that perfect shirt, I’m going to wear it to death (and shamelessly post about it) instead of putting it on once and then waiting a year to blog about it again.

I have nothing but respect for bloggers who come up with four outfits a week for months without ever repeating a clothing piece- it takes dedication and can produce amazing results. But my goal in writing this blog is to honestly chronicle my life in San Francisco and what I wear while doing it. My life isn’t always glamorous and exciting, but that doesn’t mean I can’t wear some awesome boots with my jean shorts while I live it. Don’t worry if you missed it- I’ll probably wear them again tomorrow.

San Francisco's Upper Haight, wearing Gap cardigan, ATM tee, Gap shorts, H&M tights, Vince Camuto Winchell boots

Standard

2 thoughts on “How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love Outfit Repeating

  1. Pingback: Polka Dots with a Side of Mustard | sanfranista

  2. Pingback: 5 Things Every Woman (or Open-Minded Man) Needs in Her Closet | sanfranista

Come on, tell me!

