Inspirations

Is it fall yet? This week’s style inspiration

To honor San Francisco’s upcoming Fashion Week/Awards, I rounded up my current favorite style ensembles. These layered looks are stylish and head-turning while still relaxed and playful. Most of all, they’re perfect for San Francisco fall, which we know can range from 80 degrees down to 40 within the space of the same day.

The changeable weather is even more fun if you have a cross-bay commute similar to yours truly. I can guarantee that if I’m comfortably dressed for braving the San Francisco fog, I’ll be dripping sweat and smearing foundation everywhere by the time I arrive in crystal-clear, sunny Berkeley. Around here, layers are as necessary as iPhones and PBR. I used to laugh at people who wore scarves during seasons that were not winter. How times have changed.

I chose to feature these four looks because the styles mesh together beautifully, but each stands out on its own merit. I arranged the styles in order from within my fashion comfort zone on toward intriguing/intimidating. I feel comfortable with my solid personal style, but sometimes evolution is a good thing.

This first look is the perfect example of less-is-more style that still stands out. To take it through a mercurial San Francisco day, I’d carry an oversized bag with a pair of thick tights (or two) and a scarf stashed inside. Temperature drops 20 degrees? No prob, Bob.

I love the second look for its quirky cuteness and accessibility. Layered looks can be intimidating, especially when playing with different textures and hem lengths. It’s easy to break your body’s line up when layering like this, but leaving the buttons open and belting the ensemble helps keep things streamlined. I also love how she combines neutrals with a single pop of mustard, which keeps it fun but wearable.

mustard&tights

This third look is a classic example of downtown cool- a little disheveled, a little androgynous, but most of all well-coordinated and edgy. I’ll totally admit I’m biased toward pixie haircuts with attitude (hey, there’s nothing wrong with being a little narcissistic!), and Kelly from The GlaMourAi rocks this shaggy cut. I like how she uses fewer layers of clothing but adds the chunky necklace to give the outfit interest and dimension. The pattern-on-pattern works because she keeps the colors in a similar family. Love it!

20120918-143538.jpg

My final pick is one of my favorites and is a fun challenge to interpret for my own style. I love how everything is oversized- the hat, trousers, bag, blazer- even her loosely styled hair is long and dramatic. A look like this could easily veer into sloppy territory, but she keeps it crisp with a well-tailored blazer and cuffed sleeves that keep the look feminine. I’ve been pretty married to my cigarette pants recently, but this look inspires me to take a chance on a dramatic silhouette. It’s always fun to stand out from the jegging crowd, right?

20120918-143551.jpg

Now that I’ve steeped myself in all this inspirational eye candy, it’s time to embrace September and get ready for fashion week. My mission is to unpack my sweaters, layer it up, and not being afraid to combine some new silhouettes. The temperature outside might not be in crisp fall mode yet, but I’m nothing if not optimistic about the weather.

Standard

7 thoughts on “Is it fall yet? This week’s style inspiration

    • I hear you- it can be intimidation to mix patterns like that, but the results are so worth it! You can always ease into it by debuting such an outfit in a dark, crowded bar đŸ˜‰

  1. Pingback: Just in Time for Halloween: How Zombies and Sequins Go Together « sanfranista

Come on, tell me!

