My Outfits

I felt a little nervous about picking out a look for my first outfit post! I’ll be honest; I created a tornado in my apartment last night as I tried on half the contents of my closet. I wanted to put something together that would make a statement, but all the outfits that kept coming together didn’t really feel like me.

Then I remembered the reason I wanted to do this. I’m so inspired by blogs like Jennifer Hsieh’s, which showcase the writer’s personality and their everyday style. I was reminded of a great post about authenticity on the Independent Fashion Bloggers website, which encouraged me to post without trying to impress anyone or be someone I’m not. And if I’m being authentic, sometimes I like to wear tunic/cape/sweater things that wouldn’t look out of place when dressing up as Link from the Legend of Zelda for Halloween.

ImageImage

I found said green hybrid at Urban Outfitters back in 2007. It was a huge splurge at the time for a senior in college (I believe it was around $80), but it’s been worth its weight in gold. I love how its hemline hits at the same places as my minidress- all the better to create awkward twirling photos in Chinatown!

The polka dot dress from Forever 21 is a nod to my love of 60’s silhouettes and icons. My closet is chock-full of dresses with short hemlines, mostly sheath and a-line with a handful of drop waist styles thrown in for good measure. My snake-hipped figure of high school and early college has deserted me, so I make sure to interpret the designs to suit my body- I’m pretty sure Twiggy never had to worry about being a classic pear shape! The drop waist and flouncy skirt work well for my body, and it’s so darn comfy.

I’m off now to celebrate my two year wedding anniversary with my husband, starting with smiley face pancakes… At 1 PM. Good times.

I have to admit…

Aside

4 thoughts on “I have to admit…

  1. You seriously just made my day. Maybe my week. Or my month. I always viewed my blog as an outlet for my pointless rambles and my awkward portraits and it’s just incredibly nice to hear that it all has an impact no matter how small. You also reminded me to take a step back and to remember to blog about what I love instead of what I think others will love. So I just want to say, thank you.

    Keep blogging your awesome style and rocking those capes. Link is one hell of a fashion icon. Just saying. 😉

    P.S. Congratulations on 2 years! You two know how to celebrate – I’m kind of jealous of your pancakes.

    • Aw, consider my day/week/month made as well! The blogosphere can feel like a lonely place when you’re first getting started, so getting a comment from one of my fashion blog heroes is no small potatoes 🙂 I’m so glad that you found me, and I look forward to continuing to follow your adventures and your awesome style. Thanks so much for coming by!

  2. Pingback: Polka Dots with a Side of Mustard | sanfranista

  3. Pingback: Three Anniversaries |

Come on, tell me!

